Psalm 103:15
Why am I here? This is a question that has haunted man for generations. Philosophers have spent lifetimes trying to reach an answer. Countless books have been written on it. Sermons too numerous to count have been preached on it. Lives have been changed in search of it. Yet, no-one ever seems to really grasp that the answer is right at their fingertips. We are here for one purpose only: “to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.” Even my 7 year oldknows this. So why do I still wake up most mornings and wonder “Why am I here?” Is it really my purpose to spend another long day cleaning the bathroom, cleaning the kitchen, and cleaning the floors (for the tenth time today)? Is it really my purpose to spend another day washing the laundry and washing the dishes, picking up toys and putting away books? Am I really supposed to cook another meal that on any given day at least half of my children will find something about which to complain? Am I really supposed to spend another long day attempting to teach my children, refereeing their squabbles and kissing their hurts? This is not how I thought my life would turn out. I always thought I would travel to far-away places, eat exotic foods and stay in grand old hotels on the Continent. I’ve been to Canada–absolutely beautiful, but not what I had in mind. I’ve eaten Moroccan food–in a little restaurant in Berkeley, California. I have stayed in old grand hotels–in San Francisco and Victoria. I traded in a travel bag for a diaper bag. Not necessarily an even exchange! Am I disappointed? Sometimes, but not often enough to change this life of mine. Mundane as it is my life does have purpose. I get to take walks in the yard with my toddler as she takes walks with her “baby”. I get to see my son’s eyes light up as he shows off the latest fly he’s tied. I get to watch my daughters play make believe games, oblivious to all around them, lost in their imaginations. I get to live–something one can not help but do when children are involved. And by living this life God has blessed me with I can fulfill my purpose–I can glorify Him in all I do. “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my strength and my redeemer.” Psalm 19:14

