Ah…the wonderful, fun-filled, spring ritual…buying dress shoes for two-make that three-little girls. One would think that shoes that hardly see any wear could be passed from one girl to the next. Not so in our house. Big Sis has incredibly narrow feet and Mimi has-to put it bluntly- Fred Flintsone feet (well, maybe not that bad). This always incites feelings of terror in my heart/pocketbook. Why, you ask?…Well, let me tell you. I can not purchase shoes at the normal places, you know, where they are somewhat reasonably priced…Noooo, not me…because of their hard to fit feet…my girls get to shop at Nordstrom for their shoes…the only place in town that I can find shoes that fit correctly…I tell you we practically OWN Nordstrom…just from what I’ve payed out in the last 9 years on shoes alone. Now, we are adding daughter #3…so far she is following in Mimi’s footsteps…no pun intended…she has quite possibly the fattest feet I’ve ever seen on a 19 month old. . I guess this is what happens when your Mother Hen was wearing a women’s size 9 by the time she was 13 (oh, what I wouldn’t give to squeeze my feet into size 9’s again). But, the price is not the only thing that fills my heart with dread. Have you seen the shoe styles offered up for young girls?…Helloooo, Paris Hilton/Jessica Simpson/Britney Spears. Every time I check out the shoes I am amazed that anyone would buy HIGH heels for their YOUNG (read that under-13) daughters…What ever happened to letting little girls being little girls…What is so wrong with that? Why are we so intent on making our daughters grow up before they need to? So, today we get to converge enmass in the children’s shoe dept. at Norstrom…a place where everybody knows my name…and go through the trial of trying on pair after pair of shoes…sifting through the “you’ve got to be kidding? That’s a girl’s shoe!” shoes and hopefully finding something that makes us all happy… no heels please, just nice, simple, modest shoes for nice, simple, modest LITTLE girls.

