April  4th,  the Knight and I celebrated 14 years of wedded bliss. There was no huge celebration, no grand plans for the day, things went as as they normally do on any given Tuesday: the Knight off to work and I at home with the chicks. But there was one difference, just a small difference, but a difference none the less. The blessings I felt having the Knight in my life seemed to be magnified on Tuesday. I don’t know why but on that day the feelings I experienced 14 years earlier came flooding back to me. All the love and the hopeful expectations I thought about so long ago have become my reality. I am married to a Knight in Shining Armour. So, this is for you my Dear Knight…I LOVE YOU much more now than I did as that younger, blonder, more slender me. I have come to appreciate you more for all you do for me (and the chicks) and how much you love me…it shows in so many ways–from the separate pot of coffee you make for me each morning to the tiding up of the house at night after I’ve gone to bed. I know you do these things not because you have to but because you love me and care for me. So, My Dear, thanks you for these last 14 years…I so hope and pray that this wedded bliss–for richer or poorer, in sickness and in health, ’till death do us part– will continue long into our lives. I look forward to someday having that house with the porch where we can sit, sipping lemonade watching the world go by–hopefully surrounded by our chicks and their families. This is the Sweet Life.

originally posted 4/8/06

