Well, it’s been a while since I’ve made an appearance so I thought I’d post on what we’ve been up to lately. We’ve made a couple of family day-trips to locations throughout Northern California: Muir Woods & Squaw Valley (pictures to come later…hint, hint–Dear Knight!). We’ve enjoyed our month off and now we’ve completed the first week of our new school year and are off to a rousing start. We are getting back to basics, classical basics that is. I revisited the Christine Miller’s web site, http://www.classical-homeschooling.org, (the site that inspired our focus/method for educating our chicks at home), recharged my batteries, tweaked our “curriculum” and found new inspiration from a dear friend in Canada. (Actually several dear friends from Canada, Vietnam and throughout the US–you gals know who you are and I am eternally grateful for your friendship, inspiration and wisdom). Ann V. has written an absolutely fabulous children’s geography e-book entitled “A Child’s Geography: Explore His Earth”. It is just what our little nest needed (along with Jeannie Fulbright’s Exploring Creation with Astronomy”) to jump start the enthusiam that has been sorely lacking in this Mother Hen and her chick as of late. It is written in the C.M.Hillyer/Charlotte Mason style with lots of narration prompts, great activites, suggested reading lists and many, many sugestions for showing God’s love to others as we explore His world. To take a look at this book see the link in the sidebar under the heading “Hey! Check These Out”. I have printed out the first chapter and can’t wait to start on this tomorrow with my young geographers (even my sixth grader is eager to start it!). Sometime in the near future (at the suggestion of the aforementioned friend) I will post my schedule for our history studies using C.Miller’s “The Story of the Middle Ages” and my schedule for our astronomy studies using J.Fulbright’s “Exploring Creation with Astronomy”. I also hope to get a schedule for our geography studies done up fairly soon. I plan to spread the 11 chapters out over the next 22 weeks or so…taking into consideration Baby #5’s anticipated mid-January arrival. So, I leave you with these famous words: T.T.F.N.–Ta Ta For Now!

originally posted  9/11/05

