Every August as I get ready for our new school year to �officially� start I plan, loosely, the kiddos reading schedules. I pull out all their books, count the pages required for the year, and divide that number by how many days or weeks they will use that book arriving at their reading goal. In my quest to do this efficiently I write out in grid form a 12 week chart showing what and how much each child needs to read for each subject each week . Then I transfer all that info into a run of the mill planning book. But not this year. Well, I still do the page counting and writing in the chart …but…the run of the mill planner is gone! No more funky-looking container of many useless pages for me! I now am the proud owner of a customized (by me) planner that has only the pages I need and use in it! I took my inspiration for my dear friend Ann. In fact her brainchild, seen here, is just what I’ve been looking for all these 8 homeschooling years. This is the before:

Oops!! due to technical difficulties…the pictures are not viewable…argghhh!!–Technical difficulties solved!!

before

before

(The black band is an elastic strap to keep the book closed.)

And this is the after:

cover

cover

The quote on the front is: “Education is an Atmosphere, a discipline, and a Life” ~~Charlotte Mason
This is the inside front cover. I am going to attach a small pocket to hold miscellaneous papers and notes.

inside cover

inside cover

On the inside back cover I am going to attach a year at a glance calendar. The inside pages are divided up just as Ann described with one change…I added a column for writing down reminders of what’s coming up in the next week–any field trips, doctor’s appointments, special projects, etc…
I love the idea of writing in the things as I’ve done them rather than filling in the pages with what I need to do and then trying to get it all done. I can’t wait to use my new “planner” –Thank you, Ann for the inspiration!

originally posted 8/26/07

