Today was the day for the chicks and I to get serious about our annual holiday baking frenzy. This little tradition started with my grandmother who always delivered homemade treats to her neighbors. It was (and still is) continued by my mom and me and my chicks. So, after baking 3 batches of almond-choclate-cranberry biscotti, one pan of creamy mint brownies, one batch of HOMEMADE peppermint marshmallows (OH MY! TO DIE FOR!!!) to go with the peppermint hot chocolate mix we whipped up last week along with the numerous batches of white and dark chocolate peppermint bark the Boy has been making over the last week, 3 loaves of pumpkin orange marmalade bread, and a final batch of gingerbread cookies (yesterday we made and decorated two additional batches and about 7 dozen butter cookies and the chicks built 2 gingerbread houses–from kits) and the last of the butter cookies. I finally called it quits for the day and sat down…Whew! It’s been a long while since we/I have baked like this…and I’m tired–but it’s a good tired.

But really this is about the peppermint marshmallows. This is our first attempt at making them from scratch and am I glad we did. Who would have thunk that a simple solution of corn syrup, sugar, peppermint and vanilla extracts, water and gelatin could make such a light and fluffy treat! Absolute marshmallow perfection…just enough mint to let you know it’s there but not too much to be overwhelming. These babies are going to be perfect with that hot cocoa!! Or even better—peppermint s’mores! Hey-Daddy-man fire up the ol’ bar-b!!

Many thanks go to Elizabeth at Real Learning for steering me in the right direction and feeding my peppermint addiction!

originally posted 12/19/07

