Since I am nursing our wee one I cannot seem to stop eating. I am famished ALL the time. So, I dug out this recipe for a kid’s snack mix that the chicks like…not a lot of added fat and good for a quickly appeasing a snack attack.

Chick’s Snack Mix
4 cups cereal (unsweetened like Cheerios, Kix, Chex, etc…

1 1/2 cups small pretzels (I break them up just a little to make them distribute more easily when I mix everything up)
!/2 cup chopped cashews, walnuts or pecans
2 TBSP butter
2 TBSP real maple syrup (not pancake syrup) or honey
1-1 1/4 cupsof dried fruit ( I use dried cranberries, raisins, dried pineapple or whatever dried fruit I have on hand)
Optional: 1/2 cup flaked coconut,

Melt butter and syrup together in microwave. Mix cereals and pretzels together in a large bowl. Add butter/syrup mixture and mix well. Spread onto a foil lined baking sheet (I spray ours with non-stick spray just to make sure the cereal doesn’t stick after baking). Bake in a 350′ oven for about 8-10 minutes. Keep your eye on the cereal as it can burn easily. Remove from oven and allow to cool completely. After cereal has cooled, add in dried fruit & coconut, if using, and mix well. Alternattely, you can add the coconut to the cereal before baking so that it toasts in the oven…however, watch it carefully so that it doesn’t burn!! Keep in an air tight container. This only keeps for a day or two day in our house…the chicks tend to gobble it up very rapidly!!!

originally posted 3/10/06

