Family

About a year ago my dear Mother-in-Love surprised me with  my family.  I mean it. She gave me the gift of my family…or more accurately my family tree…on my mom’s side…all the way back to the 1640’s.  Apparently, I’m related to half of Quebec (just joking).  But seriously, my great-great-great,etc…grandfather several generations back was one of the early  folks to settle in Quebec (exactly where escapes my mind right now…I’ll have to look it up for another post). But suffice it to say those early settlers were hardy stock.  They were pioneers.  A later grandfather (I believe my mom’s great-grandfather) fought in the Civil War, don’t know which side he was on, but that doesn’t really matter.  I have a connection to a turning  point in American history.

And the funny thing is it seems I’m not the only one looking for family…one of my mom’s cousin’s son has been gathering data about the family.  Through a very circuitous route we got in touch.  He e-mailed me some photos this afternoon.  I can’t explain what it was like to see pictures of my grandma, my mom’s mom, the  one and only grandparent I ever knew, as a young woman–fashionably dressed I might add.  I know when I show these pictures to my mom they will bring back many memories.  I can’t wait to see what else my mom can add to the story.  She’s looking through her old photos for anything that might be of interest.   And in the meantime I get to correspond with a 2nd cousin I didn’t even know I had until this past November.  I feel like I’m playing connect the dots.  Sure glad I like that  game.

Coram Deo,

Lola

Leave a comment