A new school year, that is.  And with the new school year  comes my new school planner/journal.

cover shot

cover shot

I started with a  7.5 x 10 inch, lined,  Moleskin journal.  Then I added the picture to the front.  I covered the spine with a piece of scrapbook paper from my stash and edged that in ribbon, front and back.

inside cover and title page

inside cover and title page

On the inside front I place small sticky notes with recurring events; in this case, our weekly steps in the writing process (ala Bravewriter) and our “Friday Freewrite” reminder (for those weeks we are not working on a month-long writing project).  I move those sticky notes to the Monday of that week in the process, ie. the first Monday of the first full week of the month I place the sticky note that reminds me to have the bambinos choose their writing topic.  The following Monday I place the sticky that lists step 2 in the writing process: narrowing the topic using the “Topic Funnel”,  I do this for the 4 Mondays of each month.  If there is a 5th Monday it is a freebie!  I keep using the same stickies until the no-longer stick or I loose them!

Inside pages

Inside pages

Here, I’ve divided up the 2-page spread into 7 columns.  One for each weekday , one for the weekend with space for notes, and one for reminders of things I need/want to accomplish daily (quiet time and my morning walk) or weekly (1x a week school subjects with the kids).  This is the first year I’ve used a column for those reminders.  I am hoping this year it will encourage me to be consistent with those activities!

I’ve previously posted about my journals here and here.  I am still using the Gratitude Journal…

And lest you think I am the “oh-so-creative-one”, these little books do not stem from my original idea.  That distinction goes to Ann at Holy Experience, one to whom  I owe much!  If you truly want to be inspired, challenged, and refreshed you simply must visit Ann…really!

Coram Deo, Lola

